Home Page

Roxbourne Primary School

National Curriculum

Government Introduction to New Curriculum

The Government has introduced a new curriculum that all state schools have to follow from September 2014 for Key Stages 1,2,3,4. The only exceptions are for Year 6 and Year 2 who will continue with the previous curriculum this year until 2015.

The Government says that . . .

Every state-funded school must offer a curriculum which is balanced and broadly based and which:

  1. Promotes the spiritual, moral, cultural, mental and physical development of pupils at the school and of society, and prepares pupils at the school for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of later life.
  2. The school curriculum comprises all learning and other experiences that each school plans for its pupils. The national curriculum forms one part of the school curriculum.
  3. All state schools are also required to make provision for a daily act of collective worship and must teach religious education to pupils at every key stage and sex and relationship education to pupils in secondary education.
  4. Maintained schools in England are legally required to follow the statutory national curriculum which sets out in programmes of study, on the basis of key stages, subject content for those subjects that should be taught to all pupils. All schools must publish their school curriculum by subject and academic year online.
  5. All schools should make provision for personal, social, health and economic education (PSHE), drawing on good practice. Schools are also free to include other subjects or topics of their choice in planning and designing their own programme of education.

Organisation Change

The curriculum is clearly divided into two year blocks:

 Key Stages / Phases

School Year 

Age Range 

Early Years Foundation Stage



3 - 4 Years

4 - 5 Years

Key Stage One

Year 1

Year 2

5 - 6 Years

6 - 7 Years

Lower Key Stage Two

Year 3

Year 4

7 - 8 Years

8 - 9 Years

Upper Key Stage Two

Year 5

Year 6

9 - 10 Years

10 - 11 Years


There is greater freedom for schools to decide which skills and concepts to teach and when to teach them.

This will mean that we are more able to meet the learning needs of the children instead of focussing on the curriculum.

The Roxbourne Approach

A New Project Based Creative Curriculum which goes from Nursery to Year 6 (Cornerstones)

Half Termly projects in every year group which:

  • Link learning across the curriculum.
  • Makes learning exciting and interesting.
  • Provides first hand learning experiences.
  • Provides challenge.
  • Gives opportunities for independent learning, questioning and thinking.

Our Chosen Projects

Year Group

Autumn Term

Spring Term

Summer Term


Super Heroes

Moon Zoom!

Big City, Bright Lights

Rio de Vilda

Paws, Claws & Whiskers

The Enchanted Wood


Street Detectives

Towers, Tunnels & Turrets


Muck, Mess & Mixtures

Wriggle & Crawl

Land Ahoy





Mighty Metals

Gods & Mortals

Heroes & Villains




Misty Mountain Sierra


Burps, Bottoms & Bile

Blue Abyss




Peasants, Princes & Pestilence


Time Traveller

Scream Machine


A Child's War

Frozen Kingdom

Tomorrow's World

Darwin's Delights


Gallery Rebel

Cornerstones Approach

Each Project has four stages:

  • Engage
  • Develop
  • Innovate
  • Express

These are worked on over the six week project and match with the requirements of the national curriculum.